beginnings and endings

I’m drawing near to ending the longest relationship I’ve ever been in…with my PhD. Last week I submitted my revised thesis for classification as passed, having taken into account the examiners’ comments. Hopefully I won’t have too long to wait until I find out that it is finally and completely passed…never to be looked at again.

Well, I don’t know if I really mean that. There’s some good work in it. And I have already been invited to work with a respected professor to use some of the findings to develop workshops for students and supervisors. That’s exciting – and happening sooner than expected. I have space in my life again! Space to say “yes” to new opportunities, new challenges and to reconnect with the family and friends who have patiently (and impatiently) waited for this journey to be over.

Space for writing, thinking (about other things than PhD and work), books, travel, movies, writing, time with friends, drinks, cooking, TV, crafts, writing…did I mention writing? I’ve always scribbled bits and pieces, kept journals, collected quotes that struck a chord with me…and on the lists I’ve kept of things to do when I finished the PhD was even starting a blog.

Why a blog? I have read a few good ones…usually found through a good dose of serendipity. You know, that odd way the internet has of you finding something interesting or odd, and by clicking on a link or two, you find a blog, a writer, a photographer, a cook…something that makes you smile, think and question life even more…

So…it’s time for some new adventures. There’s some travel planned, new challenges and opportunities at work, books to read…books to write even. I feel like I am standing on the brink of a brand new life, one full of newly imagined possibilities. Where I can shape it to my heart’s content, explore new things, and fill the glorious space in my life that is there because I finished something big and I did it well.  I am not sad to say goodbye to the PhD…it’s been a long, challenging journey. It is however, one road I am glad I took. Because it brought me here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to beginnings and endings

  1. Carolyn says:

    Hi L,
    What an amazing achievement- I wish u well in your final PhD review.
    You are now ready to discover new challenges- what an exciting place to be in on this part of the journey through life- I’m excited to see where the path takes you xx
    C

  2. Michelle says:

    I pray you have a bright and welcoming future…You deserve it!

  3. Mark says:

    Welcome! May your posts be a little more regular than mine have been… and a lot more interesting.

  4. Brenda says:

    Great beginning, there’s only UP from here! 🙂

  5. Emma. says:

    Yay Lesley! You rock!

    Also, I love that you seem to have a penchant for the ellipsis…just as I do! 😀

    Go girl! 😀

    Emma.

  6. Andy B says:

    Cool start Lesley – you’ve already been saved as a favorite! Write well, you may even inspire me to write something beyond my original entry! Love your work 😉

  7. Good luck with the blog. I tried to keep one for a while… the travelling librarian, only I started travelling too much to be able to keep it up! – last posting was July last year 😦
    Maybe you will inspire me to get back to it!

  8. Andy…look what I’ve started…*cue evil laughter*

    • andybutt says:

      It’s spreading like a virus – there is something soothing about writing about trains when actually on them (obviously I had a seat – could have been quite difficult otherwise!) I’ll show you how to do the subliminal messaging later – soon everybody will be endorsing your work!

      • I need more technology in my life…i.e. an laptop is the latest thought since I have a wireless modem router thingy at home. Although I don’t think blogging while driving home is the best idea…I like driving, it’s thinking space, then I have to try and scribble the thoughts down at traffic lights…

Leave a Reply

